Tropical Paradise Truffles

Last week while I was making truffles, I decided to make some with rum or liqueur in them.  So I started going through my bar cabinet and I found the passion fruit liqueur.  I didn’t want them to be only with passion fruit liqueur, so I remembered that I had mango extract and coconut flakes. Suddenly it hit me and I said to myself, “Oooohhh! Caribbean inspired truffles.”  I whipped up the truffles recipe, prepared and chilled them.  I waited this long to post the recipe because I was conducting a “trial taste test” with some of my friends to find out how good these were.  The feedback I got was really good.  One of my friends said: “Oh my god, this is my favorite thing from now on”.  Hahaha (On a side note, this is how I laugh. I refuse to use the abbreviation “LOL”). So… where was I. Oh yes, I think that she meant that these truffles came out really good. Now without further delay….here is the recipe for my delectable creation… Enjoy.

PS: I apologize for using the same picture as the Irish cream almond truffles.  I had no time to take a picture before these truffles were G-O-N-E = gone.

Tropical Paradise Truffles

 

Ingredients for the White Ganache

1 bag (12 oz) white chocolate chips (I used Ghiradelli white chocolate chips)

4 oz heavy cream

2 tbs passion fruit liqueur (more can be used if a stronger taste is desired. Warning: If too much is used chocolate will stay very soft.)

2 tbs mango extract

Ingredients for the Dark Chocolate Ganache

1 1/2 bags (18 oz) Dark chocolate chips ( I used Hershey’s Special Dark chips for baking)

8 oz heavy cream

2 cup Slivered or chopped almonds (more or less can be used depending on preference)

2 cups sweetened coconut, shredded  (more or less can be used depending on preference)

1 cup Powdered sugar to dust and cover truffles

 

Procedure for both white and dark chocolate ganache

  1. Add the chocolate chips to a heat proof bowl.  One bowl for the white chips and one bowl for the dark chips.
  2. Heat the cream, for the white chocolate and dark chocolate separately, in a saucepan until it is just about to boil (do not boil).  *For the white chocolate only, add the passion fruit liqueur and extract. Stir*.
  3. Pour over the chocolate and let stand for 4 minutes. This allows time for the chocolate to melt. Then stir until smooth.
  4. If chocolate has not melted completely, put in microwave for 30 second intervals until completely melted.
  5. Let cool for some minutes at room temperature and then combine both chocolate mixtures in one bowl stirring just enough to make them look marbled.  Add and combine the coconut and almonds. Chill the chocolate for 5 to 10 min in the fridge for it to harden.

Take out the chocolate from the fridge and with a spoon start to scoop small amounts of the chocolate mix and shape into balls.  You can line a baking sheet with wax paper, any tray or plate and place them there.  After scooping all chocolate balls, wash hands.  Prepare a small bowl or deep plate with powdered sugar. Take chocolate balls and roll them in the powdered sugar and cover completely. Place them again on wax paper and refrigerate.  When ready to eat, take out a few minutes before if you want for them to soften a bit.

Leave a Reply

